WEEK32-Final Report

There are 4 briefs in this design 2 module. I have completed 2 group works and 2 individual works in this semester. After finished a series of practice-led research work in this semester, I understand this design 2 module is a preparation for final project. Although I felt difficult in this semester, but l really learnt new knowledge from each task.

Digital cities

In this section, I followed 5C Model to start this task and made a data wall, zine, story board and a 1-min film. Firstly, by making the zine, I learnt how to organize information and generate content of our research. Secondly, I learnt about critical design theory. I understood that design is not only about making thing beautiful, it is about doubt and challenging assumptions, generating questions, making problems and framing problems sometimes. (Dunne & Raby, 2013) I understood why we were asked to poke our system. I think it is about let us to imaging how our system could be in most evil way and to help us design better. After that, we showed our critical thinking in the last film task.

Data visualization

In this section, I made two installations and a poster about data visualization. I learned a lot in this stage. One thing is collaboration. After reading Tim Brown’s T-Shape Theory: “empathy allows people to imagine the problem from another perspective to stand in somebody else’s shows”, l learned how to collaborate and communicate better with my group. Having reflected on this, I listened and considered my partner’s ideas when we were in discussion. I gave my thoughts which build on their ideas after that. I think it is really helpful for a team work. Another thing is about data visualization. After made two installation of data visualization, I learned data visualization is not about how beautiful it looks like or only present data in a visual way, instead, it is about can they quickly and clearly communicate with people and whether audiences are able to understand the information easily. Having reflected on this, I tried to make my poster as simple as possible and have a story to tell.

Collect: project mapping

In this section, my task is to collect materials to start my final project. This is the first stage in 5C Model theory and I think this is really an important stage for the whole project. I started research from some aspects. (eg. Journal, article, news, design website, design project…) I also used some research methods to do a primary research. Research methods helped me find problem and paper articles can support my question. But I think I have not done enough research. I need to use more research methods to do the research.

Comprehend: remix research magazine

In this section, I have made a research magazine by comprehending materials that I collected. Although I have done a small zine in brief 1, it was still a little hard for me to start because of the big topic and plenty of materials. However, after I made a page plan and started to review materials, I found this step can help me to sort out my thoughts and review my thinking process. After editing this magazine, I understand it is necessary to generate a content and make it easy to communicate with audiences. I think this learning will help me to continue editing this magazine better in the future.

Conclusion:

Overall, in this semester, I followed practice-led research theory and I learned a lot by doing these 4 briefs. I think what I learned in this semester will be very useful for my future work, for example: critical thinking, data visualization, collaboration and research methods. I also will follow 5C Model theory in my future project. In addition, I still have something to do in the near future. I think I need to do more research of my final project by using kinds of research methods from Co-Creative method cards. I also need to start making some test experiments to develop my final project.

 

 

Reference:

Critical Design FAQ: Anthony Dunne & Fiona Raby [online] Available at: http://www.dunneandraby.co.uk/content/bydandr/13/0&gt  [Accessed 28 January 2016]

IDEO CEO Tim Brown: T-Shaped Stars: The Backbone of IDEO’s Collaborative Culture [online] Available at: http://chiefexecutive.net/ideo-ceo-tim-brown-t-shaped-stars-the-backbone-of-ideoae™s-collaborative-culture/ [Accessed 4 March 2016]

Manovich L (2010) What is Visualization? [online] Available at: http://manovich.net/index.php/projects/what-is-visualization[Accessed 5 March 2016]

 

发表评论

